Age limit to doing a PhD?

Hi there, I am currently considering doing a PhD. However, I am what you might call a “Late Developer”-I was 65 y/o when I obtained my MA (with Merit, from Durham) and I shall be 70 next year. Am I too old to seriously consider doing a PhD? Would any application from me be taken seriously?

Paul

3 Likes

If it helps, Paul, I’m doing my PhD now and will be 60 when finished. I am by no means the oldest candidate in my university, nor within the very competitive consortium to which I won a full studentship.
Go for it! Our brains and bodies have a lifetime of knowledge that enables us to see the world from a different perspective. I know that it makes me worry less and take the process in my stride.
Have fun. Write your own PhD proposal and apply!

5 Likes

Hi Paul.
I heartily concur with Inga.
I am 61 and completed my BA in 2019, Criminology Honours 2021, and have recently been accepted with the full stipend to do a PhD by publication (Australia). If you have a competitive academic record and a well put together proposal that engagingly communicates an interesting project that matches your target Universities grant rich areas, involves publication, and builds on their existing research in some way you have as good a shot as other candidates. An interested supervisor that already knows you can do a lot to key you in before you apply, and to introduce you and your project idea to other potential co supervisors who want your project to go ahead because it is ‘in their wheelhouse’, and because they can potentially co author articles with you.
If you have the energy to do it, go for it.

2 Likes

Paul, I will make Inga and Jay words my words.

But I understand your concern about being accepted. What could give you a clearer idea about your application, try to reach out to the coordinator of the program you are interested in, present a brief description of your profile and ask openly if you should consider applying for the program.