Did i make a mistake?

hey guys,

I am an international masters student in the UK. I have been put in a position where i had to pick between doing a PhD in engineering or a job.

The thing is I know for sure that I want to do a PhD as I aspire to work in one of the big AI research labs. However, I am not sure if i would be able to work along with my supervisor during the PhD, as she is so controlling, also, the university that offered me the PhD opportunity is a low ranked university in London.

So with that in mind i had to pick the job opportunity for now. and i told myself i will keep looking for PhD opportunities in better universities in the future.

did i make the right decision? Am I going to regret leaving this opportunity?

@obai first, let me answer your question up and front: There is simply no way to answer your question with a simple Yes or No. Just forget about it. Whatever answer you might get from other people it will be “If I was in your position, I would do this…” but every single person would give you a different answer and would be an answer based on what works for them rather than for you.

Although there are a couple of questions that might give you some insights about this:

1. About your supervisor, you mentioned she is very controlling. Thinking clearly, do you think you would be able to work under her supervision straightforwardly for 3 or 4 years? My guess is, considering if you are already concerned about this, then you would not. Maybe you would but your mental health would be all over the place and it is just not worth it.