Doing PhD after working in an industry for 6 years

Hi everyone,

I did my masters 6 years back and then worked in a industry (RND- Biologics) for 6 years, now I am persuing a PhD , however at times I feel overwhelmed and lost as if I have forgotten everything of Molecular Biology , I don’t know where to start from ? I loose confidence, because sometimes I ask really dumb questions and when I go and look that up, I see I have already worked with that technique or read it way back? Is there a strategy to overcome this?

@zarbuk Do I have a strategy to overcome this? No, I don’t.

The only thing I can tell you is that you are not alone. :fist_right: :fist_left:

I went through only a semester of a Ph.D. program and am applying again at the end of this year but I experienced a similar situation. Several times I was like a dear looking into the headlight. Several times I was in a discussion and I know I know the content but my mind just went blank. Nothing there.

The only thing I can give you is, based on my reflections on my experiences, a couple of hypotheses of why this is happening. Most of them you already mentioned. You don’t know what to say because you are lost. You are being more pushed around rather than conducting the process you are going through. I come from coaching, human behavior, and professional development so my way of help is more on making questions rather than giving you one-solution-fits-all processes.

Do you actually care about what you are working with? I mean, if you didn’t any pressure to work on this, would you still do it? What would you work with if your bills were all paid and you didn’t have any external pressure? My intention here is to discover where your motivation is pointed because that motivation is what will give order to your thoughts.