How to get inputs/feedback?

Dear Academic Insider Community,

I’m doing my PhD in computer science at the intersection of robotics and computer vision. Having done my BSc and MSc at different Universities, I already worked in quite a few research labs (also in different research areas). From my time in research labs before I started my PhD, I was used that a PhD meets their supervisor weekly or bi-weekly so that the supervisor is quite close to the PhD’s research and can guide him/her. I was also used to have Postdocs around (normally 1 Postdoc for 2-4 PhD candidates)

Unfortunately, in the research lab, I’m currently doing my PhD this is quite different. The professor meets one student per week. Since our group has around 15 PhD candidates, we have one meeting (approximately one hour) every 15 weeks. In the first 15 minutes, we have to remind him what we discussed during the last meeting. Depending on the problems/ideas I have during the time of the meeting, I do get some good feedback, but it is obviously nothing like him guiding or really supervising us. It’s more like if you have a good question and lucky that he has some spontaneously good feedback, the meetings are worthwhile. But it can also happen that he doesn’t like an idea you previously discussed with him.

In addition, we don’t have any Postdocs in the lab. The research of the group is quite scattered, and therefore it is also quite difficult to get good inputs from other PhDs about your research.

This situation leads to the fact that we have quite some freedom in which direction we want to focus our research, which I appreciate. However, it is quite bad to publish. I feel that the only really valuable feedback we get is from the reviewers of the conferences/journals we are submitting our papers to. Given that I actually like to publish more, the situation is quite frustrating.