Starting a PHD at 40. I have a topic but nowhere to start…

Hello, I am looking to start a phd. I am a well establish professional in the humanitarian and built environment sector. But I would really like to dig my teeth into a topic for some time. I don’t know where to start ? Anyone else can share a similar experience ? What are some of the hints and tips you have ? Thanks

2 Likes

Hello @Sahdia,

It has been six months since I’ve started my Ph.D. journey, and I have a similar experience. I’ve started reading articles similar to a board topic which I and my advisor help me get started from. As reading more and more articles, I’ve begun to understand the topic better and what the current challenges are. From here, I’ll try to focus on a particular problem and see If I can come up with one or more solutions.
So I can say that I haven’t had a topic to start with, but as reading and dug into the literature I can now list a few sub-topics which could be the bones of my thesis.

Good luck on your journey!

7 Likes

Thanks Emil, That’s really helpful.
I was curious as to how you chose your advisor. Seems they are key to guidance.

Welcome, Sahdia.

Try to find review articles in your field and ask your supervisor for a starting list of papers to read.
Starting is always the hardest part but reading every day will get you familiar with your field.

Once you find a good paper use a tool like Connected Papers to find the associated studies to build out your knowledge from there.

All the best,

Andy

9 Likes